My Brain

brain

There it is…the 3 x 4cm hemorrhage in the left thalamus and basal ganglia. The CT scan also indicated evidence of past bleeds. I really had been feeling changes for up to a year and a half prior to the major bleed. My vision was deteriorating, yet, when I went to my optometrist, there wasn’t anything to suggest that my prescription had really changed all that dramatically. I was also becoming quite tired and irritable on a regular basis. Years ago, I had been anemic, so I thought I may be again, but that was not the case. I didn’t understand why I was becoming so irritable; I loved teaching and there were no exceptional stressors going on in my daily life. Also, while I was running, I felt like I couldn’t focus properly on the ground ahead of me, so I always felt very tentative about my foot placement. On Wednesday, September 11, 2013 I woke up feeling…odd. I had also been feeling a bit sick and had a mild headache; I wondered if a migraine was starting. I realized that I had lost a lot of feeling in my right leg. At school, I was flat out exhausted, I had no appetite, and I felt highly unfocused. Have you ever been on a ride at an amusement park and felt off balance after? That’s how I felt; I needed to move, rather than stand still, or I felt like the earth was moving. By the end of the day, I felt really disconnected from my surroundings and decided to go to emergency. Because I was still talking, mobile, etc., the doctor felt that my symptoms may be that of MS and I was to make an appointment with my regular doctor. That evening was terrible, but I never said much at home. I just forced myself to get a lot of housework and school work done so I would be really organized the next day. In my mind, I was trying to make things better for everyone should I be sick over the weekend and have to take Friday off of work. On Thursday at school, I could tell I was having problems forming words; I had to really focus on my pronunciation and I was finding it difficult to retrieve certain words that I wanted to use. I kept losing my balance as I walked in between students’ desks. Then, I went up to the white board to write and two things happened. First, I could barely lift my right arm and, secondly, I was having trouble printing. Later, I was teaching my physical education class in the school gym. We were playing indoor soccer and I ended up tripping on my right foot and landing flat on the floor. At the end of the day, I made arrangements to take Friday off of work and I went back to emergency. Now things were really moving. By Saturday, September 14, 2013, I was in the Vancouver Neurological Intensive Care Unit.

4 comments

  1. Anonymous · November 22, 2014

    Dana, you showed me what it means to have strength and courage through adversity so many years ago. You continue to inspire me by sharing your harrowing experience and turning it into something positive and empowering. I look forward to following your story on your new Blog!

    Like

  2. Cassie · November 28, 2014

    We just found out our two year old daughter has a 1.8cm one in her left basil ganglia thalmus location as well. Devastated 😦

    Like

    • dhangle · November 28, 2014

      Oh my, I am so sorry to hear this; it’s one thing for an adult to be unwell, but a whole other beast for a little one to be sick. As mentioned in my blog, I strongly believe in traditional medicine, a naturopathic approach regarding supplements, and nutrition. Take care of yourselves, too! You are all in my heart.

      Like

    • dhangle · December 5, 2014

      Hi Cassie,
      I was wondering how you and your daughter and family are doing? Have you been on the Angioma Alliance Forum? Connie and others have children with angiomas. It may be a good resource for you. Take care.
      Dana

      Like

Leave a Reply

