Transparency and Semantics

first day

Before I get going on providing more information, I really feel that I must very transparent and state that my ongoing recovery includes many tools. I have participated in occupational therapy, physical therapy, speech and language therapy, and I continue today with counselling. I am fortunate to have a great deal of support from family and friends. Furthermore, I feel that the Angioma Alliance Forum has afforded me some great feedback. As well, my meditation group and Shambhala teacher have been amazing! I have been on medication and, although I have weaned off of some and reduced the dosages in others, I do believe in a holistic approach to healing, which includes some medications for me. However, mindfulness and meditation, I feel, have been absolutely crucial in my progress and continued journey.

I don’t want to get too caught up in semantics; I am not saying that it (meditation and mindfulness) will, or will not be of benefit to you, and keep in mind, it’s not an easy fix, but it is an enjoyable learning curve. There are also many forms of meditation and you will have to find what suits you. It will be fun to explore the varieties!

I don’t want you to get too caught up in developing a perception of who I am either. Because I majored in English and was an English teacher, my brain has retained a lot of my writing and grammar skills, but I still have a lot of deficits and I don’t want you to assume that mindfulness and meditations are a “cure all” for what ails you. Currently, I deal with the following: fatigue, memory impairment, cognitive issues, sensitivity to light, sound, and cold, thalamic pain syndrome (especially in right arm), right leg and foot numbness, headaches, lack of concentration, and an inability to separate and/or follow conversations in a group setting. From outward appearances, I look fine and I usually do well in brief conversations with one, or a few people, but more importantly, I am alive and happy (except when my insurance company phones me and gives me a hard time) and I do credit meditation and mindfulness for where I am at, which is here, in the present moment, and loving it!

Leave a Reply

