On Meditating and the Brain

Do-ne-sangwa-250x62

For the first couple of weeks after my stroke, I did a lot of sleeping. In the third week, pain, insomnia, anxiety, and sensory difficulties (as well as cognitive issues) set in. I was feeling a mix of emotions; more than happy to be alive, fortunate to have a meditation background, but generally unwell. Mindful breathing helped me in the hospital in the following ways:

  • helped to reduce the effects of stimuli such as light and sound
  • assisted in alleviating stress, anxiety, loneliness, and boredom

Once I became more capable (cognitively speaking) of using mindfulness and meditation, I was also able to

  • quiet my mind by permitting thoughts to move in and out without judgement or perseveration
  • build more compassion for myself and others
  • become more energized as I breathed deeply into all my cells
  • improve memory and attention

Check this out  http://www.perthbraincentre.com.au/meditation  and this http://www.livescience.com/26993-mindfulness-meditation-remodel-brain.html

Be well!

Leave a Reply

